New GI Coffee House

July 28, 2008 at 6:46 pm 2 comments

A video about current GI resistance activities in Washington state.

Entry filed under: Action, Civil Liberties, Iraq, Peace, Resistance, Soldiers, Video. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Afghanistan Violence, War in Niger, Canada Parliament Votes to Let US War Resisters Stay, Corey Glass Appeals for Asylum Banner Drop At Staten Island Mall

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. a fellow patron  |  November 15, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Why do you attack recruiter when you dont have any of the facts. I am a fellow patron and I bet you don’t want to hear what I have to say. I am serving my country and I was recruited out of high school proudly. I did not seek a recruiter. I had several scholarships and offers to Div 1 School and I choose to do both, college and military. The ASVAB is not a scam as your non-factual website suggest. When does the SAT or ACT take in account of what career I want to go into. Your website does not support anyone but anti-military extremist and attempt to brain-wash students into thinking the military is the worse career to have. Look at the statistics and do the research. 47% of all students who graduate HS and go to college don’t finish. Then what do they do? Work at fast food places. Why doesn’t your website take in account of another opportunity that is available for those who are not smart enough or financially able to go to college? Why doesn’t your website bash colleges for increasing tuition or the past 15 years? If those who are not appreciative of the FREEDOMS they have and the OPPORTUNITY to even setup a website like this through the rights of the constitution; then leave this country and move to somewhere were the military is FORCED on you and there is no FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Thanks for your support in those who VOLUNTEER to fight for your rights. You freedoms to walk into a library without the fear of it blowing up. Use your history book and understand how humanity has evolved over the years. We are the land of the proud and brave, and if you are not in support of that. Please leave so we can fight for those who willing to stand in line and support those who serve. It’s not about war, because no one wants to leave their family and go to a distant land and be killed for someone like YOU. But for the 70 year old veteran who fought for me to be free 50 years ago, or a 2 year old playing at a park in NYC during the WTC attack, or maybe the 30 year old pregnant woman in the hospital giving birth to twins who didn’t know her husband was going to die that day. Or maybe for my kids who will one day, possibly have the opportunity to do the same as I. But I don’t know how much this will help, but I just had to let you know that there are people out here who care more about AMERICA then themselves because you do not support me and the thousands of others who put there lives on the line for you to do what you do. Or those laying in graves in Arlington who done the same for me. HAPY VETERAN’S DAY and maybe tries focusing on the random murders that happen in our own backyard with no website about that. We have more young people dying in our own country then anywhere in the world because of websites like this focusing on the wrong topics. Go to schools and fight for discipline and not recruiters.

    A Fellow Patron

    Reply
  • 2. Mel  |  January 23, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Kudos to you “fellow patron”. The only reason I am on the website is because I am writing a position paper for my college English class. I have to showcase both side of the persepective. I am doing recruiters in high schools. I wish one would have been more prevailent in my high school. I wasted two years of my life working dead end jobs. I refused to go to college because I didn’t want to take out student loans. I served four years in the Navy- and they are some of the proudest days of my life. They taught me my career and I saw the world. Now I fulfilled my duties and am going to a four year University and not paying anything. Recruiters don’t attack you and drag you into the service. And most people aren’t qualified to even enlist. Why shut out the possibility of new opportunities?? You can walk into any branches recruiting office and not even give them your name and talk about your personal goals and see if the military is an option. If more recruiters had been in my school maybe I wouldn’t have wasted two years of my life after high school working meaningless jobs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


